Friday Finds

I’m getting back into reading again, and have become hooked on several podcasts over the last couple of weeks. With that being said, not only will I share what I’ve been finding around the blogosphere, but also what I’ve been reading and listening to in the process.

bank-1345275_1280

Around the web….

We Are All Disabled (Tanya Marlow and SheLoves Magazine)

I love how she points out that “we are all occasionally lazy, occasionally heroic. We are all needy, and rely on the kindness of others to survive.” As someone who lives her life with a mild handicap, I often struggle with over-apologizing for needing help (or needing anything, for that matter), when in reality I’m only being human like the rest of us. It just happens to be on a different level, and perhaps I’ve just had to learn to be brave enough to ask, while others might still be afraid.

What to Do About Getting Rejected (Allison Fallon) 

I’ve experienced rejection quite often (as we all have), and often it’s tempting to allow myself to feel small, to shut myself away from the world until I’ve gathered enough courage to face the scary stuff again. Yet, her words continue to be an invitation to not allow rejection to shrink you, but to enable you to become the kind of person that you’re created to be. Amazing.

 

On my reading list...

Present Over Perfect  (Shauna Niequist) 

In a culture where productivity is glorified and busyness worn like a badge of honor, it’s so easy to get caught up in the throes of it (especially when you’re young). Her words aren’t as much of an urgent warning as they are of a blessing; a blessing to slow down, to savor, and start over. And you don’t have to wait until you hit a certain age, stage, or season to do it.

Love Warrior (Glennon Doyle Melton) 

This woman has been my hero since I read her first book fresh out of college. Not only does she not put Jesus in a box, but she helped me understand things about myself that I didn’t have the words for in my younger years. You’d think that this book wouldn’t apply to those of us that are single, but reconsider. This is so much more than about rebuilding a marriage, but rebuilding yourself and finding a faith that goes beyond straight-laced ideals. This is for anyone fighting for the people they love, and fighting for who they are.

 

Colors of Goodbye: A Memoir of Holding On, Letting Go, and Reclaiming Joy in the Wake of Loss (September Vaudrey)

I wasn’t sure if I was going to be ready for this, and I’m beyond thankful that I read it anyway. It is not a manual of how to grieve or to get through the grief, but an eye-opening story of faith and presence in the midst of tragedy. I was captivated from the first page, and read it slowly because it was one of those books that I didn’t want to end. A phenomenal example of what it means to not tell someone how to live, but to simply tell the truth.

 

On my ipad…

Typically Hazardous: The “ME” I Want to Be (Hank Fortener) 

Do you ever look at a title and think it would be about one thing, but then it turns out to be about something totally different? This not only gave me a wake up call regarding a bad rut that I was stuck in, but it also showed me that it was going to take more than just ceasing to do what was unhealthy. I needed to get to the root of the problem.

Voices: Sarah Bessey (Soul City Church)

I occasionally visit a church in Chicago, and my first experience was during a series called “Voices” in which they have different speakers come and tell their stories. If you love Sarah’s writing, you’ll definitely love the way she speaks: with passion, wisdom, and truth.

 

Have a great week!

Photo Credit

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

