Love In Action: An Introduction

Where is the love?

It’s not just a catchy hook on a near decade-old Black-Eyed Peas song; It’s a question that many are asking, and the answer seems to be split right now the middle. Such an answer will depend on a person’s experiences, and unfortunately some allow their pasts mistakes and pain to determine whether they think love is alive or dead.

In my honest opinion, it’s neither. It’s just hidden deep within the crevices of our hearts, our busy schedules, our anger, our fear, and our pride. We have traded vulnerability and intimacy for superficial and distanced relationships, and unfortunately the blame gets put on the people around us, when everybody has a choice

Love is not just a feeling, but it is also something that we must do; not just one time, but multiple times over.

It does not have to solely exist within the romantic realm, or only taken seriously because one sees a person in a romantic light. Love can and should exist because we’re simply human beings.

It is not about deserving or earning anything. We should love others because quite frankly, we would not be able to survive without it.

I’m not a doctor or any kind of expert; I’m a twenty-something passing on my observations and lessons learned over the years. Topics range from the simple things (love languages), to the hardest things (forgiveness and letting go). I can’t say for certain how many weeks it will be or if I’ll write everything at one time. I want it to be clear and well thought out, and since I have a busy schedule, it might not all happen right away.

Needless to say, I’m very excited about this, and I hope you’ll come along with me for the journey!

Leave a comment